The Flagpole Radio Café

    is a lively variety show presented by Flagpole Productions™
in association with the Newtown Cultural Arts Commission

The Flagpole Radio Café and the Flagpole Radio Café logo are trademarks of Flagpole Productions.
Copyright © 2008 - Flagpole Productions. All Rights Reserved.

Program for March 19, 2011 with Christine Lavin

Click on the links below for Video clips



Flagpole Radio Cafe Theme, Saturday at the Old Town Hall
A Word from Our Sponsor
I’m Walkin’
Irish Author Held Hostage
The Real Single Ladies of the Pootatuck Shore
Steampowered Aeroplane

Special guest Christine Lavin
Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Flagpole Radio News
Real News from the Newtown Cultural Arts Commission
Lonesome Road
The King’s Speech II
Ever on Our Way
Game Night
How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
Theme song reprise

Saturday at the Old Town Hall and Ever on Our Way
music and lyrics by Jim Allyn

CHRISTINE LAVIN has recorded 20 solo albums, the latest of which is Cold Pizza For Breakfast on Yellow Tail Records]. She has also produced nine compilation CDs showcasing the work of dozens of songwriters whose work she loves -- one of them, the food-themed One Meat Ball, includes a 96-page cookbook that Christine edited. For four years she hosted “Slipped Disks” on XM satellite radio, playing CDs slipped to her backstage by compatriots. She also writes freelance for various publications (including The Washington Post, The St. Petersburg Times, Performing Songwriter, and Delta “Sky” Magazine). Her song “Amoeba Hop” has been turned into a science/music book by illustrator Betsy Franco Feeney (Puddle Jump Press), received the stamp of approval from The International Society of Protistologists, and a “Best Book Award” from the American Association for The Advancement of Science.

Christine performs concerts all over the US, Canada, and points beyond (Australia, Germany, Israel), and hosts knitting circles backstage prior to each show.

Jim Allyn, Rick Brodsky, Howie Bujese, Dick Neal, Chris Teskey
with Francine Wheeler

Martin Blanco, Barbara Gaines, Kate Katcher, David Wheeler

Written by Martin Blanco

with Jim Allyn, Barbara Gaines, Kate Katcher, John Morogiello,
Greg van Antwerp, and David Wheeler

  • Sound Engineers
  • Stage Manager
  • Box Office
  • General Manager
  • Graphic Design
  • David Shugarts, Dan Williamson
  • Ann Hithcock
  • Jennifer Johnston
  • Richard Gaines
  • David Wheeler

For those not acquainted with The Flagpole Radio Café, it is an engaging variety show created by Martin Blanco, Barbara Gaines and Jim Allyn in conjunction with the Newtown Cultural Arts Commission. It features music by Jim Allyn and the Flagpole Radio Café Orchestra, a dynamic ensemble created for the show, and radio style comedy sketches by the hyperbolically named Flagpole Shakespeare Repertory Theatre. The Flagpole Radio Cafe is hosted by musician and radio personality Chris Teskey, who also broadcasts the show on his celebrated program on WPKN radio. Each show features a musical guest artist such as Peter Yarrow, Vanesse Thomas, Phil Bowler and Yale’s internationally acclaimed male choir The Whiffenpoofs.